Expansion of Judges in the 18th Judicial District Passes House

(Jan. 29) – A bill sponsored by Rep. Daniel Kagan (D-Cherry Hills Village) to increase the number of the judges in the 18th Judicial District from 21 to 23 passed the House this morning with broad bipartisan support 58-4.

“Justice delayed is justice denied,” Rep. Kagan said. “Coloradans deserve to have their disputes settled in a timely manner and we want to make sure that is what happens in the 18th Judicial District. I am glad this solution has large bipartisan support.”

The 18th Judicial District includes Arapahoe, Douglas, Elbert, and Lincoln counties and has had its workload increase due to population growth primarily in Arapahoe and Douglas counties.

HB14-1050 now heads to the Senate for consideration.

Leave a Reply