House Democrats Grow Majority

(Nov. 6) – Coloradans voted in favor of Democratic control of the Colorado House of Representatives on Tuesday. With returns still rolling in, it looked like the House will assemble on Jan. 4 with at least 38 Democrats – and with four races too close to call, the number could even expand up to 42.

“Coloradans just made history. We were successful tonight because we listened to the hopes and concerns of voters on the doors, at their kitchen tables and in their communities,” said Majority Leader KC Becker, D-Boulder. “Now it’s time to work together to put the values of hardworking Coloradans into action.”

The Colorado House Democrats expanded their majority, declaring victory in seats that had previously been held by Republicans:

  • Lisa Cutter, House District 25, Jefferson County
  • Kyle Mullica, House District 34, Adams County
  • Tom Sullivan, House District 37, Arapahoe County

Every Democratic member who sought re-election was returned to the State House by voters for another term:

  • Susan Lontine of Denver and Jefferson counties
  • Alec Garnett, Chris Hansen, James Coleman, and Leslie Herod of Denver County
  • Jeff Bridges, Mike Weissman, Janet Buckner, Jovan Melton, and Dominique Jackson of Arapahoe County
  • Edie Hooton, Jonathan Singer of Boulder County
  • KC Becker of Boulder, Clear Creek, Gilpin, Grand, and Jackson counties
  • Tony Exum, Sr. of El Paso County
  • Chris Kennedy and Tracy Kraft-Tharp of Jefferson County
  • Dylan Roberts of Eagle and Routt counties
  • Dafna Michaelson Jenet and Adrienne Benavidez of Adams County
  • Matt Gray of Boulder and Broomfield counties
  • Daneya Esgar of Pueblo County
  • Joann Ginal and Jeni James Arndt of Larimer County
  • Barbara McLachlan of Archuleta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, La Plata, Ouray, and San Juan counties
  • Donald Valdez of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Huerfano, Mineral, Pueblo, Rio Grande, and Saguache counties

Also joining the House Democratic caucus for the first time in 2019:

  • Serena Gonzales-Gutierrez and Alex Valdez of Denver County
  • Emily Sirota of Arapahoe and Denver counties
  • Sonya Jaquez Lewis of Boulder County
  • Marc Snyder of El Paso County
  • Monica Duran and Kerry Tipper of Jefferson County
  • Yadira Caraveo and Shannon Bird of Adams County
  • Julie McCluskie of Delta, Gunnison, Lake, Pitkin, and Summit counties

Races have not been called in House Districts 27, 38, 47, and 50.

Addressing the joyous crowd Tuesday night at the Colorado Democratic Party’s gathering in a downtown Denver hotel, Rep. Becker thanked Coloradans for their support for Democratic leadership at the state capitol.

“This election was about what kind of state and country we want to be,” said Rep. Becker. “Coloradans supported those who will fight to expand opportunity for all and to govern responsibly. They chose Democrats and inclusiveness over those who would seek to divide us.”

Tonight, we said we will not allow the elevation of hate and fear to take hold. Coloradans are showing through their actions that they believe in an inclusive America, where differences are not only tolerated but appreciated. I’m confident these leaders will meet our state’s challenges, realize our future and help heal divisions,” said Speaker Crisanta Duran, D-Denver.

“Coloradans sent a clear message in this election that they support the work that the House has prioritized from expanding access to health care and education to making sure every person has the opportunity to get ahead,” said Rep. Alec Garnett, D-Denver.


Leave a Reply