This One’s on the House

(April 10) – In an emotional scene on the House floor, the Hop the Vote Trophy came home today.

The trophy, won by the House in “head-to-head” competition with the Senate during the first-ever Hop the Vote contest, sponsored by the Colorado Brewers Guild, was formally presented to Speaker Dickey Lee Hullinghorst this morning.

“It will occupy a place of honor in my office, between my McGovern hat and my resolution to abolish the Senate,” the speaker said.

The competition was held in Denver last October during the 2014 Great American Beer Festival, the nation’s largest. Attendees sampled and cast votes for Representative Saison or the oddly misnamed Upper Chamber. After nearly 900 votes were counted, Representative Saison led by a recount-proof 3.8 percentage points.

“We could always see and hear the superiority of the House of Representatives. Now we can taste it,” Speaker Pro Tem Dan Pabon, D-Denver, a member of the victorious House brewteam, told the members this morning.

“I’ve always said this is not about Republican versus Democrat, it’s about the House versus the Senate,” said Assistant Minority Leader Polly Lawrence, R-Littleton.

Other members of the winning team are Reps. Joann Ginal, D-Fort Collins, Patrick Neville, R-Castle Rock, Bob Rankin, R-Carbondale, Kim Ransom, R-Littleton, Brittany Pettersen, D-Lakewood, Jonathan Singer, D-Longmont, and the now-retired Spencer Swalm, R-Centennial, and Kevin Van Winkle, R-Highlands Ranch.

Chris Holbert, R-Parker, was banished from the House team after switching over to the Senate this year.

The Brewers Guild is accepting nominations for the 2015 Hop the Vote teams, which will be announced later this month.

Leave a Reply