‘We Are With Dreamers’

(Aug. 30) – Speaker Crisanta Duran and eight other members of the House Democratic caucus have added their names to a “We Are With Dreamers” declaration signed by more than 1,860 elected officials and faith, civic and law enforcement leaders across the country.

The declaration, released today, urges President Trump to preserve the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program, which has prevented the deportation of nearly 800,000 people who were brought to the United States as children, grew up and went to school and built their lives here. The letter also encourages President Trump and members of Congress to support legislation that grants permanent protection to DACA recipients.

“We fear the Trump Administration may overturn DACA, punishing people who did nothing wrong and have only known a home in the U.S.,” Speaker Duran said. “In Colorado we passed legislation to help Dreamers get college educations so they can fulfill their potential as contributors to their community and their state in whatever career path they choose. We should be focused on measures that support and unify us, not dividing one group from another.”

The list of signers includes Speaker Duran and Democratic State Reps. Mike Foote of Lafayette, Chris Hansen of Denver, Leslie Herod of Denver, Dan Pabon of Denver, Joe Salazar of Thornton, Jonathan Singer of Longmont, Mike Weissman of Aurora and Dave Young of Greeley. Also signing on were Gov. John Hickenlooper, state Sens. John Kefalas of Fort Collins and Dominick Moreno of Commerce City, and more than 130 faith leaders from around the state.

Nationally, the signers include governors, state attorneys general, mayors, state legislators, city and county elected officials, and leaders from faith communities, law enforcement and civic life. For a full text of the “We Are With Dreamers” statement and a list of signers, visit WithDreamers.com

Leave a Reply