top of page

November 5, 2020


Garnett elected to serve as Speaker, Esgar as Majority Leader

DENVER, CO — Colorado House Democrats today elected Rep. Alec Garnett, D-Denver, to serve as Speaker of the Colorado House; Rep. Daneya Esgar, D-Pueblo, to serve as Majority Leader; Rep. Serena Gonzales-Gutierrez, D-Denver, to serve as Assistant Majority Leader; Reps. Meg Froelich, D-Littleton, and Lisa Cutter, D-Jefferson County, to serve as Majority Caucus Co-Chairs, and Reps. Monica Duran, D-Wheat Ridge, and Kyle Mullica, D-Northglenn, to serve as Majority Caucus Co-Whips.

With 41 members, the caucus will continue to hold the largest Democratic majority since 1965.

Speaker-designee Garnett served as the House Majority Leader in the 72nd General Assembly in which Democrats passed historic and ambitious legislation to respond to the COVID-19 pandemic, protect our environment and lower the cost of health care. He represents HD-02, which includes parts of Denver and is the youngest House district in the state. His election will be official when the House convenes for the first day of the 2021 legislative session in January.

“In this election, Coloradans continued to place their trust in Democratic leadership, and it is a privilege to lead our state forward to help Colorado build back stronger,” said Speaker-designate Alec Garnett, D-Denver. “House Democrats are committed to forging an economic recovery where every Coloradan has a fair shot at success. We will put students and teachers first and protect the Colorado we love by preserving our clean air and water. With a diverse caucus that is 68 percent women, we will fight for all our communities, regardless of party, and advance justice for those who too often have seen it denied.”

House Democrats elected Rep. Esgar to serve as Majority Leader. Rep. Esgar is the Chair of the Joint Budget Committee (JBC) and represents HD-46, which includes parts of Pueblo County. She led the JBC as it responsibly crafted a balanced state budget during the worst economic and public health crisis in a generation and has been a strong voice for Southern Colorado at the state capitol. She is a founding member and former chair of the Colorado LGBTQ legislative caucus.

“We have a lot of hard work ahead, and I am humbled Coloradans have overwhelmingly chosen Democrats to continue leading in the House.” said House Majority Leader Daneya Esgar, D-Pueblo. “I’m ready to roll up my sleeves and bring my Southern Colorado values to the leadership table and to continue fighting for our essential and hardworking state employees. I’m excited to get to work for families and for Coloradans across our state to lower the cost of health care, build an economy that works for all, and always prioritize our students and teachers.”

Rounding out the leadership team are:

Representative Serena Gonzales-Gutierrez, D-Denver, as Assistant Majority Leader:

Representatives Meg Froelich, D-Littleton, and Lisa Cutter, D-Jefferson County, as Caucus Co-Chairs:

Representatives Monica Duran, D-Wheat-Ridge, and Kyle Mullica, D-Northglenn, as Caucus Co-Whips:

bottom of page