top of page

November 4, 2020


DENVER, CO — Coloradans voted tonight in favor of continued Democratic leadership of the Colorado House. With ballots still being counted, results indicate that House Democrats will have a strong majority, winning at least 41 seats, with additional races still too close to call.

“I’d like to thank the people of Colorado for continuing to put your trust in us and for the clear message you sent tonight about how we can continue moving the state forward for all Coloradans,” said House Majority Leader Alec Garnett, D-Denver. “Now, we must all work together to help our nation heal, to take control of this pandemic, and to build back a better, stronger Colorado than the one we had before COVID hit.”

“From lowering the cost of healthcare to protecting our communities from oil and gas drilling, our Democratic Majority made important progress over the past two years on issues that are important to families across our state,” said Speaker KC Becker, D-Boulder. “We governed responsibly through the pandemic, passing an ambitious COVID relief package to help Coloradans make ends meet and get through this crisis. Tonight, it’s clear Coloradans support what we’ve accomplished and want to see our work continue.”

Colorado Democrats strengthened their majority in the Colorado House of Representatives, with David Ortiz victorious in HD-38, a seat that had previously been held by a Republican.

During a victory celebration over Zoom, Majority Leader Garnett sent a clear message about the future Coloradans deserve:

“For far too many, and especially for our communities of color, the American Dream is broken, with only flat wages and mounting debt in its wake. Together, we can forge an economic recovery that renews the fundamental promise of America – that if you get a good education, work hard, and play by the rules, you can have a fair shot at success.

“To every Coloradan whose support we didn’t earn this time around, we’ll be working for you and your family too. Together we can build back a better Colorado for all.”

Election night results as of 9:50 showed Coloradans had definitively re-elected at least 41 House Democrats:

  • Susan Lontine (HD-01) of Denver and Jefferson Counties

  • Alec Garnett (HD-02), Serena Gonzales-Gutierrez (HD-04) Alex Valdez (HD-05), Steven Woodrow (HD-06), Leslie Herod (HD-08), and Emily Sirota (HD-09) of Denver County

  • Edie Hooton (HD-10) of Boulder County

  • Tony Exum, Sr. (HD-17) and Marc Snyder (HD-18) of El Paso County

  • Chris Kennedy (HD-23), Monica Duran (HD-24), Lisa Cutter (HD-25), , Brianna Titone (HD-27), and Kerry Tipper (HD-28) of Jefferson County

  • Dylan Roberts (HD-26), Eagle and Routt Counties

  • Dafna Michaelson Jenet (HD-30), Yadira Caraveo (HD-31), Adrienne Benavidez (HD-32), Kyle Mullica (HD-34), and Shannon Bird (HD-35) of Adams County

  • Matt Gray (HD-33) of Boulder and Broomfield Counties

  • Meg Froelich (HD-03), Mike Weissman (HD-36), Tom Sullivan (HD-37), and Dominique Jackson (HD-42) of Arapahoe County

  • Daneya Esgar (HD-46) of Pueblo County

  • Mary Young (HD-50) of Weld County

  • Cathy Kipp (HD-52) and Jeni James Arndt (HD-53) of Larimer County

  • Barbara McLachlan (HD-59) of Archuleta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, La Plata, Ouray, and San Juan Counties

  • Julie McCluskie (HD-61) of Delta, Gunnison, Lake, Pitkin, and Summit Counties

  • Donald Valdez (HD-62) of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Huerfano, Mineral, Pueblo, Rio Grande, and Saguache Counties.

With thousands of ballots yet to be counted, HD-47 where Bri Buentello is seeking reelection is too close to call.

Joining the House Democratic Caucus for the first time in January 2021:

  • Jennifer Bacon (HD-7) of Denver County fills the seat previously held by James Coleman, now the Senator-elect for SD-33

  • Karen McCormick (HD-11) and Tracey Bernett (HD-12) of Boulder County fill the seats held by Jonathan Singer, who is term limited, and Sonya Jaquez Lewis, now Senator-elect for SD-17

  • Judy Amabile (HD-13) of Boulder, Clear Creek, Gilpin, Grand, and Jackson Counties fills the seat held by Speaker KC Becker

  • Lindsey Daugherty (HD-29) of Jefferson County fills the seat held by Tracy Kraft-Tharp, now Commissioner-elect for Jefferson County

  • Naquetta Ricks (HD-40) and Iman Jodeh (HD-41) of Arapahoe County fill the seats held by Janet Buckner, now Senator-elect for SD-28, and Jovan Melton, who is term limited.

Races have not been called in:

  • Jennifer Mitkowski (HD-43)

  • Mary Parker (HD-22)

bottom of page